Let me… (Daily writing prompt)

Daily writing prompt
Describe your ideal week.

Let me…

Let me work a normal shift
with normal expectations
Perhaps, normal hours
without guilt for being tired

Let me eat a normal meal
without children’s cries
teenagers battle senseless
I’ll just do the dishes quietly

Let me go to bed, a normal
time, without the honey-do
list of added tasks, and my
detailed faults, minor notes

Let me remember, that time
will wash the unpleasantness
away, to fondly remember
these as better days past

Let my week pass with
gratitude for challenges
and tender moments of
daily imperfections

I want to thank you for taking the time to read the above piece. This is a new medium for me, and any commentary you may have, I do appreciate. These are all drafts, if I ever take them further, I would expect edits as a part of the natural process. 

Photo by Stefan Vladimirov on Unsplash

12 thoughts on “Let me… (Daily writing prompt)

  1. I applaud for choosing to post as poetry. I’m not creative myself yet!

    I like the part you said about remembering “these as better days past”. It’s hard to realize sometimes without the luxuries of hindsight and perspective that these are “the good old days”

    Liked by 3 people

    • I’m learning Poetry, wish I had more time to read it.

      I was grumbling through my morning which is how the poem started, and then I remembered that someday I’ll look back and forget all the bad. Glad it came out positively in the piece.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: “Let me…(Daily writing prompt)”/Adam Fenner | By the Mighty Mumford

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.