Old Oak Tree

Daily writing prompt
What is the legacy you want to leave behind?

Not a legacy of ashes, dust on the wind
Blackened remains on a metal sheet
Sprinkled on the water, children’s tears

Compost slowly, patience with grandpa
Consumed by earth, of fertile ground
Oak tree saplings, roots tangled deep

Let time pass, birds nest, squirrels play
Stretch wide, leaf burst cooling shade
Thick trunk fattens, generations forget

You know that tree there, and who it is?
Who? That old tree isn’t a who, its a tree?
That old tree was, my grandpa told me.

I’m on Facebook, there I’ll be able to communicate with people more directly, and also have more writing updates, beyond daily musings and light bits of poetry.

Follow me on Facebook here.

Photo by Mario Mesaglio on Unsplash

7 thoughts on “Old Oak Tree

  1. Someone observed that we tend to think of legacies as the preserve of the elite. I suppose that may be why I’ve not thought about ‘my legacy’. I’m glad you’ve put a different frame around it, Adam.
    Thanks
    DD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.