That word ‘hero’

Define that word
Hero

Wet firecracker
Disposable note

Am I a hero
No no not you

Yes yes hero
Dismissed

The better parts
Of valor, Discretion

Humility, honor
Valor, but quietly 

Then am I
Not if you say so

Hero worship
Community rejoice

At a distance
In a mask

On the screen
Beautiful fantasy

We hire heroes
Can I have a job

Oh no not you
Unqualified, poor fit

Then what for
Whispered words

Caesar gave land
Material gratitude 

Uncle Sam offers 
Disability pension

To what benefit
Purchased silence

To what ends
The stories end

I’m on Facebook, there I’ll be able to communicate with people more directly, and also have more writing updates, beyond daily musings and light bits of poetry.

Follow me on Facebook here.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

2 thoughts on “That word ‘hero’

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.